Batch of works of literature 1/ - Corneille,... - Lot 46 - Crait + Müller

Lot 46
Got to lot
Estimation :
100 - 150 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 120EUR
Batch of works of literature 1/ - Corneille,... - Lot 46 - Crait + Müller
Batch of works of literature

1/ - Corneille, Pierre. - The theatre of P. Corneille. New edition. Paris, Nion, 1747. 6 volumes in-12 (out of 12) bound in full contemporary calf, first plates stamped with the name of "Mr. De La Bruere", spine ribbed, title and giblets - headbands faded, beginning of crack in the jaws of the first plate of T I, second jaw of T III restored, beginning of cracks in the jaws of T IV, jaws of the second jaw of T V split, jaws of T VI split, spidering.

2/ - Thomas. - In praise of René Descartes. Speech which won the prize of the French Academy in 1765. Paris, Régnard, 1765. In-8, bound in full seeded calf, spine ribbed, title-piece - tail cap frayed - 126 pp, [1 f.]. Bound afterwards: a/ - De Belloy. - Le Siège de Calais, tragédie...Paris, Duchesne, 1765 - xvi, 118 pp, [1 f.]. b/ - Le Kain. - Adélaïde Du Guesclin. Tragedy... Paris, Vve Duchesne, 1765 - [4 ff.], 71 pp, [1 p.].

3/ - Imirce ou la fille de la nature. London, 1782. 2 vol. in-16 bound in full tan calf with ornate spines, title-piece, plates with triple gilt filleting - [2 ff.], 209 pp. ; [2 ff.], 220 pp.

4/ - Elegant epistles: being a copious selection of instructive, moral, and entertaining letters, from the most eminent epistolary writers. London, John Sharp, s.d. [c. 1820]. 12 volumes in 6 volumes, bound in full blond calf with boards decorated with a double frame of gilt fillets spaced with small flowers, spine ribbed with roulettes and stamped motifs, title-pieces (red and green) - 12 engraved frontispiece titles. 5/ - [Despreaux de la condamine, Cl.- Ph. Simien]. - Soirées de Ferney, or confidences of Voltaire, collected by a friend of this great man. Paris, Dentu, year X, 1802. In-8, half-basane with corners, smooth spine with missing leather - [2 ff.], XI, 324 pp. There is every reason to believe that these "confidences" are more a literary invention than memories gleaned by an intimate of Voltaire, especially since some passages invented for the reader (cf. Voltaire's trip to Paris or Voltaire's dream transported to the temple of posterity), are there only to support the narrator's opinion of his model.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Lot d'ouvrages de littérature 1/ - Corneille,... - Lot 46 - Crait + Müller

Lot 46
Aller au lot
Estimation :
100 - 150 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 120EUR
Lot d'ouvrages de littérature 1/ - Corneille,... - Lot 46 - Crait + Müller
Lot d'ouvrages de littérature

1/ - Corneille, Pierre. - Le théâtre de P. Corneille. Nouvelle édition. Paris, Nion, 1747. 6 volumes in-12 (sur 12) reliés en plein veau d'époque, premiers plats frappés au nom de "Mr. De La Bruere", dos à nerfs, pièces de titre et de tomaison - coiffes arasées,, début de fente aux mors du premier plat du T I, second mors du T III restauré, début de fentes aux mors du T IV, mors du second mors du T V fendu, mors du T VI fendus, épidermures.

2/ - Thomas. - Éloge de René Descartes. Discours qui a remporté le prix de l'Académie Françoise en 1765. Paris, Régnard, 1765. In-8, reliure en plein veau raciné, dos à nerfs, pièce de titre - coiffe de queue arasée - 126 pp., [1 f.]. On a relié à la suite : a/ - De Belloy. - Le Siège de Calais, tragédie...Paris, Duchesne, 1765 - xvi, 118 pp., [1 f.]. b/ - Le Kain. - Adélaïde Du Guesclin. Tragédie... Paris, Vve Duchesne, 1765 - [4 ff.], 71 pp., [1 p.].

3/ - Imirce ou la fille de la nature. Londres, 1782. 2 vol.in-16 reliés en plein veau havane à dos lisses ornés, pièce de titre, plats à triple encadrement de filets dorés - [2 ff.], 209 pp. ; [2 ff.], 220 pp.

4/ - Elegant epistles: being a copious selection of instructive, moral, and entertaining letters, from the most eminent epistolary writers. London, John Sharp, s.d.[c. 1820]. 12 tomes en 6 volumes, reliés en plein veau blond aux plats ornés d'un double encadrement de filets dorés écoinçonné de petites fleurs, dos à nerfsorné de roulettes et de motifs estampés, pièces de titre (rouge et vert) - 12 titres frontispices gravés. 5/ - [Despreaux de la condamine, Cl.- Ph. Simien]. - Soirées de Ferney, ou confidences de Voltaire, recueillies par un ami de ce grand homme. Paris, Dentu, an X, 1802. In-8, demi-basane à coins, dos lisse avec manques de cuir - [2 ff.], XI, 324 pp. Il y a tout lieu de penser que ces "confidences" relèvent plus d'une invention littéraire que de souvenirs glanés par un intime de Voltaire, d'autant que certains passages inventés pour le lecteur (cf le voyage de Voltaire à Paris ou le songe de Voltaire transporté dans le temple de la postérité), ne sont là que pour soutenir l'opinion du narrateur sur son modèle.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue